Some Golf Cart & Street Legal LSV Questions We Get Asked Frequently
Have a question? Contact us and we will try to help.
It’s recommended that you have your golf cart checked out at least twice a year. The main thing you want to have services and check regularly are the batteries which need to have water added to them if they get low. Most golf cart shops (full directory listing here) will check all the bolts for the suspension, replace any bearings that might wear, grease some joints and hubs, tighten the brake cables and check the steering column connections.
What if I Have a Vacation House in South Carolina And a Golf Cart But I Don’t Live in South Carolina?
If the vehicle is owned by a nonresident, but is subject to issuance of a certificate of title in this State, the application must also contain his:
- full legal name, social security number, or, if the primary user does not have a social security number but has a passport, his passport number
- driver’s license number, whether the license was issued by this State or another jurisdiction
- date of birth
- bona fide principal residence address
- address in this State where the low speed vehicle will be housed and used
- mailing address of the primary user of the vehicle. If the primary user is a firm, association, or corporation, the application must contain the business address and federal employer identification number of the primary user.
Only licensed drivers 16 years of age or older are legally allowed to operate a golf cart or LSV. It is illegal for young children or unlicensed drivers to drive a golf cart on a public road (which unfortunately does includes your neighborhood). It doesn’t matter if you’re seated next to your child, they are still not legally allowed to drive. If your child get in a accident, you can be liable for endangering your child and also liable for any costs or damage or injury caused by your child.
As of November 19, 2018, violation of South Carolina’s golf cart laws is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $100 or 30 days in jail.
- The Permit Registration must be carried when the golf cart is operated.
- To be operated during daylight hours only.
- Operator must have a valid driver’s license and must be at least sixteen years of age.
- The driver’s license must be in the operator’s possession.
- May be driven on a secondary highway or street for which the posted speed limit is thirty-five miles an hour or less, within 4 miles of residential or additional address noted above.
- May cross a highway or street at an intersection where the highway has a posted speed limit of more than thirty-five miles an hour.
- Upon sale of the golf cart, immediately notify the Department of Motor Vehicles in writing giving the name and address of the new owner, with date of sale.
- Remove the assigned permit decal from the golf cart upon sale
Information from http://scdmvonline.com
It’s recommended that you check the water level in your golf cart or LSV batteries every month. If they seems like they are not filled to the top of the battery you need to add water, this water needs to be distilled water and is available at most grocery stores. If the water level seems normal you don’t need to replace it.
Traditionally a golf cart is generally something that is or was used on a golf course and not technically made for the road, Where an LSV (low speed vehicle) is an actual vehicle that can be ridden on the roads, requires DMV registration (just like a car), insurance a license plate and needs to have certain safety precautions. These accessories and safety precautions are as follows: DOT approved safety glass windshield, headlight, taillights, turn signals, break lights, side and rear view mirrors, reflectors, VIN, seatbelts for any occupied seat, parking break and be able to reach 20-25 miles per hour.