Charleston Golf Cart Laws & SC DMV Regulations
What Does My Golf Cart Need To Be Street Legal?
Golf carts or LSVs (low speed vehicles) driven on public roads in South Carolina need to have a VIN (vehicle identification number), headlamps (headlights), turn signals, taillights, stop lights (brake lights), reflex reflectors, exterior mirrors (side mirrors, not just a top mounted rear view mirror), parking brakes, D.O.T. (Department of Transportation) approved windshield made from safety glass, and seat belts for every seat to be considered street legal. Neither golf carts nor LSVs are allowed to operate on a road with a speed limit of more than 35 miles per hour, but they are allowed to cross a highway or street with a speed limit of 35+ MPH.
DMV Drivers License Information
LSVs or golf carts also must be operated by a licensed driver that is over the age of sixteen, and the same laws for a car apply to golf carts regarding underage drivers and their guardians. No alcoholic beverages can be consumed while operating the vehicle, and the LSV/golf cart has to be registered and insured with property damage and personal injury insurance policy.
To Be Legal Your Cart Needs:
VIN (Vehicle Identification Number)
Headlight, Taillights, Brake Lights & Turn Signals
Department of Transportation Approved Safety Glass Windshield
Premaritally Mounted Reflex Reflectors
Side View and Rear View Mirrors
Seat Belts For Every Occupied Seat
Do I Need to Register My Golf Cart in South Carolina?
If it is only for use on your private property, then no. However, if you want to drive on a public road in your neighborhood or around town, you will need a permit from the South Carolina DMV. The permit costs $5, but you’ll have to show proof ownership (bill of sale or title information) and proof that you have a liability insurance policy. This permit needs to be renewed every 5 years or if you change your address.
Purchasing a Golf Cart Permit
To receive a golf cart permit, do all of the following:
- Complete the Golf Cart Permit Registration (SCDMV Form GC-2)
- Provide proof of insurance for the golf cart
- Provide your valid driver’s license number
- Pay $5